IGLESIA DE SANTA EUL└RIA DES RIU - PUIG DE MISSA
In the so named Quartó de Xarc during the Arab domination – that we already find since 1303 under the name of Santa Eulària – around a well populated place and with water mills, raises a mountain crowned today by the church devoted to this Saint from Barcelona, Santa Eulària. The Puig de Missa of Santa Eulària was declared picturesque spot by means of Decree dated 4th August 1952; protection which was later assimilated to this of Good of Cultural Interest with the category of historical place both for the church with its defence tower as for the whole mount.
Though there is news of an ancient chapel, the present church was inaugurated as vicarage dependent from the Saint Mary parish. The arcades and lateral chapels are works of XVII century. In principle, the temple had, in addition to the high altar, four altars dedicated to Virgin of the Rosary, Virgin of Carmen, Saint Anthony Abad and the Saints Doctors Cosmus and Damian. In 1760, three additional altars or chapels are to be found there, dedicated to Saint Anthony of Padua, to the Virgin of Bethlehem and to the Most Holy Trinity. The two chapels closest to the presbytery are deep and they jut out from the main walls in the outside. The via crucis, from side to side of the nave, is made of artistic glazed tiles from Valencia. In 1785, the first bishop of Eivissa, Manuel Abad y Lasierra, promoted the church of Santa Eulària to parish.
The baroque altarpiece that dominates the high altar, is a work of the sculptor José Ferreres, made between 1674-78 and coming from San Millán (Segovia) from where it was brought in 1967, at the initiative of marquis of Lozoya, owner of a rural house at Puig de Missa itself, who knew that the ancient altarpiece of XVII century was destroyed in 1936. The altarpiece has a body with only one panel, attic and bench, all of them made of golden and polychromed wood. The body has four Solomonic columns and a vaulted niche in the centre where there is an image of carved and polychromed wood, made around 1940 by Valencian image painters, Carlos Román and Vicente Salvador, which represents Santa Eulària. Above the cornice, in the attic, there is a painting representing Saint Rose of Lime, a work of the school of Cuaco of XVII century that comes from the church of the Convent de Dalt Vila. The Heritage department of Consell Insular of Eivissa and Formentera made restore this altarpiece and its tabernacle to exhibit the Host, which was originally located where the priest’s seat is now, and which presently is located in the lateral chapel of the Holy Sacrament.
Near the church, we find the House-Museum Barrau, where we will be able to enjoy of a magnificent collection of more than one hundred works of art of different techniques (oils, watercolour, etching and drawings) that Berta Vallon, widow of the painter, donated to the Eivisa bishopric. The Catalan painter Laureà Barrau (Barcelona 1863-Santa Eulària des Riu, 1957) developed his life in different places: Barcelona, Madrid, Rome and Paris, and he settled afterwards in Caldes d’Estrac, place which met all those conditions which he looked for concerning light capturing. And this was the reason which took him later on, around 1930, to settle in Eivissa, specifically in the house that keeps today its collection, where he got enthusiastic and left a work that stands out for its colours, its composition and human figures’ expressions. Barrau’s work captures light, landscapes, streets, the market and people from Eivissa; this is the reason why he was classified as painter of Ibiza.
At the Puig de Missa we find as well can Ros, the peasant farmer’s house that houses the Ethnography Museum of Eivissa, with an important museographic collection of the islands traditional rural scope: clothing, jewellery, music instruments, home utensils, tools for agriculture, adornments, pottery, … all of which is displayed in the frame of a house which is a good example of the islands traditional architecture.
Puig de Misa
Santa EulÓria des Riu
971 330 072
Mass schedule all year round:
Sundays: 11:00 am